• E-Books
  • Latest Catalogs
  • Books for Courses
  • Exhibits Listing
  • View Cart

Quick Browse

Events

Saturday, February 21, 2015 4:00 PM
Marcie Cohen Ferris
The Edible South: The Power of Food and the Making of an American Region
Malaprop’s Bookstore
Asheville, NC

Thursday, February 26, 2015 1:00 PM
Adrian Miller
Soul Food: The Surprising Story of an American Cuisine, One Plate at a Time
The Fearrington Granary
Pittsboro, NC

Friday, February 27, 2015 5:30 PM
Corinne T. Field
The Struggle for Equal Adulthood: Gender, Race, Age, and the Fight for Citizenship in Antebellum America
New Dominion Bookshop
Charlottesville, VA

Saturday, February 28, 2015 11:00 AM
Elizabeth R. Escobedo
From Coveralls to Zoot Suits: The Lives of Mexican American Women on the World War II Home Front
Rosie the Riveter National Historical Park
Richmond , CA

Top

March

Tuesday, March 3, 2015 4:00 PM
Joseph Andrew Orser
The Lives of Chang and Eng: Siam's Twins in Nineteenth-Century America
English Dept., University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN

Tuesday, March 3, 2015 7:00 PM
Jay Pierce
Shrimp: a Savor the South® cookbook
Quail Ridge Books
Raleigh, NC

Thursday, March 5, 2015 12:00 PM
Lisa Wilson
A History of Stepfamilies in Early America
Plimouth Plantation
Plymouth, MA

Thursday, March 5, 2015 6:00 PM
Dan Berger
Captive Nation: Black Prison Organizing in the Civil Rights Era
Schomburg Center
New York, NY

Thursday, March 5, 2015 6:30 PM
Adam Wesley Dean
An Agrarian Republic: Farming, Antislavery Politics, and Nature Parks in the Civil War Era
Museum of the Confederacy
Appomattox, VA

Tuesday, March 10, 2015 7:00 PM
Marcie Cohen Ferris
The Edible South: The Power of Food and the Making of an American Region
Zingerman’s Roadhouse
Ann Arbor, MI

Friday, March 13, 2015 7:00 PM
Timothy P. Spira
Waterfalls and Wildflowers in the Southern Appalachians: Thirty Great Hikes
The Compleat Naturalist
Asheville, NC

Thursday, March 19, 2015 7:00 PM
Adam Wesley Dean
An Agrarian Republic: Farming, Antislavery Politics, and Nature Parks in the Civil War Era
King's English Bookshop
Salt Lake City, UT

Saturday, March 21, 2015 2:00 PM
Bland Simpson
Two Captains from Carolina: Moses Grandy, John Newland Maffitt, and the Coming of the Civil War
Virginia Festival of the Book, Southern Environmental Law Center
Charlottesville, VA

Saturday, March 21, 2015 2:00 PM
Ellen Griffith Spears
Baptized in PCBs: Race, Pollution, and Justice in an All-American Town
Virginia Festival of the Book, Southern Environmental Law Center
Charlottesville, VA

Thursday, March 26, 2015 3:30 PM
Philip F. Gura
The Life of William Apess, Pequot
Bull's Head Bookshop
Chapel Hill, NC

Friday, March 27, 2015 3:00 PM
Sulmaan Wasif Khan
Muslim, Trader, Nomad, Spy: China's Cold War and the People of the Tibetan Borderlands
Harvard Book Store
Cambridge, MA

Saturday, March 28, 2015 10:30 AM
Nancy Carter Crump and Sandy Oliver
Hearthside Cooking: Early American Southern Cuisine Updated for Today's Hearth and Cookstove
Stratford Hall
Stratford , VA

Monday, March 30, 2015 7:00 PM
Marianne Gingher
Amazing Place: What North Carolina Means to Writers
Scuppernong Books
Greensboro, NC

Top

April

Wednesday, April 1, 2015 7:00 PM
Marianne Gingher
Amazing Place: What North Carolina Means to Writers
Quail Ridge Books
Raleigh, NC

Thursday, April 2, 2015 6:00 PM
William Marvel
Lincoln's Autocrat: The Life of Edwin Stanton
Pamplin Historical Park
Petersburg, VA

Tuesday, April 7, 2015 7:00 PM
Marianne Gingher
Amazing Place: What North Carolina Means to Writers
Motorco
Durham, NC

Wednesday, April 8, 2015 1:00 PM
Barbara W. Ellis, Ellie Altman and Neil Soderstrom
Chesapeake Gardening and Landscaping: The Essential Green Guide
Adkins Arboretum
Ridgely, MD

Friday, April 10, 2015 12:00 PM
Barbara W. Ellis, Ellie Altman and Neil Soderstrom
Chesapeake Gardening and Landscaping: The Essential Green Guide
American Horticultural Society's Spring Garden Market
Alexandria, VA

Saturday, April 11, 2015 10:00 AM
Barbara W. Ellis, Ellie Altman and Neil Soderstrom
Chesapeake Gardening and Landscaping: The Essential Green Guide
American Horticultural Society's Spring Garden Market
Alexandria, VA

Wednesday, April 15, 2015 7:00 PM
Kelly Alexander
Peaches: a Savor the South® cookbook
Flyleaf Books
Chapel Hill, NC

Wednesday, April 22, 2015 12:00 PM
William Marvel
Lincoln's Autocrat: The Life of Edwin Stanton
National Archives and Records Administration
Washington , DC

Saturday, April 25, 2015 7:00 PM
Timothy P. Spira
Waterfalls and Wildflowers in the Southern Appalachians: Thirty Great Hikes
Malaprop’s Bookstore
Asheville, NC

Top

May

Friday, May 1, 2015 5:00 PM
Barbara W. Ellis, Ellie Altman and Neil Soderstrom
Chesapeake Gardening and Landscaping: The Essential Green Guide
Twigs & Teacups
Chestertown, MD

Sunday, May 3, 2015 3:00 PM
Sarah Caroline Thuesen
Greater than Equal: African American Struggles for Schools and Citizenship in North Carolina, 1919-1965
Durham County Public Library
Durham, NC

Tuesday, May 5, 2015 12:00 PM
Ted Maris-Wolf
Family Bonds: Free Blacks and Re-enslavement Law in Antebellum Virginia
Library of Virginia
Richmond, VA

Wednesday, May 6, 2015 7:00 PM
Bruce B. Lawrence
Who Is Allah?
St. Louis Public Library
St. Louis, MO

Thursday, May 7, 2015 6:00 PM
Sonia Song-Ha Lee
Building a Latino Civil Rights Movement: Puerto Ricans, African Americans, and the Pursuit of Racial Justice in New York City
Schomburg Center
New York, NY

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 10:45 AM
William Ferris
The Storied South: Voices of Writers and Artists
Gillings School of Global Public Health, UNC-CH
Chapel Hill, NC

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 7:00 PM
Kimberly Marlowe Hartnett
Carolina Israelite: How Harry Golden Made Us Care about Jews, the South, and Civil Rights
Congregation Beth Israel
Portland, OR

Friday, May 15, 2015 6:00 PM
Marcie Cohen Ferris
The Edible South: The Power of Food and the Making of an American Region
Earl Scruggs Center
Shelby, NC

Tuesday, May 19, 2015 7:00 PM
Kimberly Marlowe Hartnett
Carolina Israelite: How Harry Golden Made Us Care about Jews, the South, and Civil Rights
University Book Store
Seattle, WA

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 12:00 PM
Marcie Cohen Ferris
The Edible South: The Power of Food and the Making of an American Region
James Beard Foundation
New York, NY

Top


Greenpress Initiative

© 2015 The University of North Carolina Press
116 South Boundary Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3808
How to Order | Make a Gift | Privacy
Greenpress Initiative Network Solutions